Home > Feelings? > If it Kills Me

If it Kills Me

I want to pack my bags and go someplace no one’s been. I want to pack my bags; fill them with music if Norah Jones, Jason Mraz, and Duffy. Give me a sundress, Roxy swim shorts, and my Camp Sonshinetee shirt, and I’ll be set. Send me away to a place where the sun shines, the sky is clear, and the water is sweet. All I need.

I’ll throw away my cell phone. I’ll delete my facebook. I’ll leave everything behind. All I want is a car. Give me a Thunderbird with all its miles. Let me drive as far as I can go. One tank of gas will get ne to a place of solitude. All I need.

I’ll jump out of the car, grab my stereo, and blast my music as loud as it can go. I’ll sink my toes onto whatever’s below, whether it be sand, snow, grass, or even pavement. I’ll throw my head back, listen to the wind, and sing along with Jason:

“And all I really wanna do is love you,
a kind much closer than friends use”

I’ll forget all the people who bring me down.

Then, the TobyMac will come on:

“I wanna see what You see, I wanna be where You are”

I’ll get on my feet, raise my hands, and reach for the highest cloud.

When all is lost, what else can you do?Stand on the rubble of what remains, and reach for a light above to take you to higher grounds. It makes no sense sitting where you find comfort and refuge. There’s always something more.

“Keep your eyes on the prize when they put you on blast”

Categories: Feelings? Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment